Tel.: (852) 2708 9363 Email: info@hkard.org
Rm 101, Lai Huen House, Lai Kok Estate, Cheung Sha Wan, Kowloon
A-Z OF RARE DISEASE
Overseas Experience

Many countries had laid down clear definitions for rare diseases since the 1980s. They passed clear legislations and formulated evidence-based long-term policy, which enabled rare diseases patients to have proper treatment and timely care, in such areas as early approval of orphan drugs, subsidy and more.

US, EU and neighbouring jurisdictions, such as Singapore, Japan, Australia, Taiwan and Korea have adopted the following rare diseases policies: (1) Defining rare diseases; (2) Formulating supportive policy and measures for rare disease patients; (3) Establishing rare diseases database; (4) Requiring insurance schemes to cover the expenses of rare diseases treatment, and (5) establishing legal framework to encourage pharmaceutical companies to develop drugs for rare diseases.

In 2000, Taiwan passed the Rare Disease Control and Orphan Drug Act. Then, regulations such as the Enforcement Rules of the Rare Diseases and the Orphan Drugs Act were also implemented to meet with the challenges of rare diseases. According to the People with Disabilities Rights Protection Act, rare diseases patients are entitled to enjoy the welfare, support and protection as a person with disabilities. As at 2013, 197 diseases were identified as rare diseases with a population of more than 4,000 patients in Taiwan. 78 drugs have been classified as orphan drugs and more than 1,000 patients are receiving the treatment. Through the National Health Insurance Scheme, low-income families would be fully subsidised with medical treatment, drugs and special nutrient products. Other families would get a subsidy to cover 80% of the expenses.

In 2003, Korea passed a legislation that defined rare diseases. Korea also issued a guideline on rare diseases, providing drug subsidy and funding a national survey on rare diseases. At present, there are 500,000[1] rare disease patients in Korea. As the Korean National Health Insurance (NHI) covers rare disease cases, patients only need to pay for 10% of their medical expenses; the rest would be covered by NHI. People with low income would enjoy full coverage by NHI. In early 2014, the launch of a USD540 million post-genome project[2] was announced to develop and commercialise new genomic technologies.

Although there is no official definition of rare diseases in Mainland China, the Chinese National Birth Defects Monitoring Network[3] had been established since 1986 to monitor rare diseases, including relevant prevention, diagnosis and research works. The government also drafted the Provisions for New Drugs Approval giving priority status to rare diseases-related new drugs; established Hemophilia Home of China – a patient group; adopted the Action Plan of China to Increase the Quality of Newborns and Reduce Birth Defects and Deformity; classified birth defects as non-genetic diseases and genetic diseases; established Rare Disease Relief Public Fund and Shandong Province Rare Disease Association. In addition, the National Natural Science Foundation of China has allocated additional resources in support of relevant research correspondingly every year. Regarding drug control, the foundation set up a negotiation mechanism on orphan drug prices. It also suggested using the entry system of orphan drug market to encourage its research and development to improve diagnosis, with reference to experiences from other countries and regions.

電話: (852) 2708 9363 電郵: info@hkard.org
九龍長沙灣麗閣村麗萱樓地下101號
罕病知多少
海外經驗

世界上不少國家早於1980年代已為罕病訂立定義,並且立法及制訂以實證為本、規範化的長遠政策,令當地罕病患者在藥物審批及補助等方面都得到更快、更適切的治療及護理。

美國、歐盟以及香港鄰近的國家及地區,如新加坡、日本、澳洲、台灣及韓國亦早已為罕見疾病:
(1)訂立定義;
(2)制定支援政策;
(3)設立罕見疾病個案及資料庫;
(4)大部份私人保險計劃都包括罕見疾病用藥開支,政府亦以不同法例鼓勵藥廠研發罕病藥物。

台灣於2000年通過《罕見疾病防治及藥物法》,之後陸續推出「罕見疾病防治及藥物法施行細則」等,以專門應對罕病的挑戰。罕病患者亦被列入《身心障礙者保護法》,可享受該法例對身心障礙者(即殘疾人士)的福利、支援及保障。直至2013年,台灣已將197種疾病列入罕見疾病名單,患者超過4,000人;78種藥物列為罕見疾病藥物,供逾1,000名患者使用。透過健保計劃,就醫療、藥物、特殊營養品等向低收入戶提供全額補助,其他家庭則獲八成費用補助。

韓國亦於2003年立例,訂立罕病定義,推出罕病藥物指引,提供藥物開支補助,資助進行有關罕病的全國研究計劃。目前韓國罕病病患人數大約500,000[1]。韓國的國民健康保險涵蓋罕病,患者只須支付10%醫療費用,餘下的90%由國民健康保險支付,而低收入者則全數由政府及國民健康保險支付。於2014年初正式宣佈啟動一項耗資5.4億美元的後基因組計劃[2],以推動新型基因組技術的發展和商業化。

中國內地雖然至今尚無罕病的官方定義,但早於1986年中國已建立出生缺陷監察網絡,開展與罕病有關的預防、診治及研究工作。及後又制定了涉及罕病優先審批的「新藥審批辦法」、罕病患者組織成立「中國血友病之家」、實施了「中國提高出生人口素質、減少出生缺陷和殘疾行動計劃」,並按出生缺陷分類為「非遺傳性疾病」及「遺傳性疾病」、成立罕見病救助公益基金及罕見病防治協會等。另外,國家自然科學基金亦按年遞增資助,在藥物控制方面推進建立孤兒藥價格談判機制,建議借鑒其他國家或地區的經驗,完善國內罕用藥市場准入制度,以激勵罕用藥研發創新,提高罕病患者的治療水準。