Tel.: (852) 2708 9363 Email:
Rm 101, Lai Huen House, Lai Kok Estate, Cheung Sha Wan, Kowloon
  1. Long duration for diagnosis: Given the diseases’ rarity and a lack of awareness and experience in clinical genetics, many patients have to go through a prolonged period of clinical investigations and follow-ups by different specialists in different hospitals before a proper diagnosis is made. Due to insufficient facilities, some laboratory investigations for the diagnosis of rare diseases are not available in Hong Kong. Patients’ specimens need to be frozen and sent to overseas laboratories for examination, which is very costly and time-consuming. Frozen specimens also reduce the accuracy of the test. Unable to afford the high cost of investigations, many patients are made to suffer hopelessly from the delay of diagnosis, lack of proper treatment, and deteriorating health.
  2. Lack of clinical experience: In Hong Kong, “clinical genetics” is not yet included in the list of specialists by the Medical Council of Hong Kong. Therefore, at present, no doctor can claim to be a specialist doctor in clinical genetics. Limited public resources are apportioned for research and development on rare diseases, leading to inadequate medical experience, and lack of timely, accessible and proper medical support. About 80% of rare diseases are genetic in origin, but there are grossly insufficient specialists in this field.
  3. Lack of support to rare diseases patients: Without an official definition in Hong Kong, the needs of rare diseases patients are often neglected. Many of them cannot benefit from the current safety net namely the Samaritan Fund, or denied access to publicly-funded medication. There are over 6,000 types of rare diseases identified in the world, it is estimated that there are thousands of rare disease cases in Hong Kong. The authority has yet to provide more support to rare diseases patients.. At present, only patients from 6 diseases[1] are receiving support from the Expert Panel on Rare Metabolic Diseases[2] , often through stringent criteria, yearly case by case review scheme. The majority of rare disease patients cannot benefit from the existing mechanism.
  4. High cost of medication: The rarity of rare diseases has led to small number of patients using orphan drugs. Although some pharmaceutical companies are willing to invest on R&D, orphan drugs are very costly and most families cannot afford to pay for these drugs. Most rare diseases cannot be cured and patients require continuous medication to manage and control the conditions, sometimes at higher than normal dosage. But these supporting drugs are not included in the HA Drugs Formulary.
  5. Economic burden and stress: Discrimination and misunderstanding on rare diseases can isolate the patients. Patients not only suffer from sickness and lack proper, timely diagnosis and support, but also have to deal with sense of guilt, despair and harsh feelings, and adverse impact on their employment and study, or even marital, social and psychological problems[3]. Some have to give up their jobs, which will worsen their financial situations, and psychological health. A HKU scholar once indicated that, the unemployment and poverty rates are much higher among families with rare disease patients than average level.

電話: (852) 2708 9363 電郵: info@hkard.org
九龍長沙灣麗閣村麗萱樓地下101號
與罕病為伴
  1. 確診期漫長:由於病例少,本港基因測試設備不足,加上醫護人員對罕病警覺性不足,無數患者要經歷長年累月,通過多個不同專科的診斷,化驗樣本甚至需要送往海外檢測,始獲確診;甚或始終未能確診,延誤救治,求助無門。
  2. 缺乏相關醫療經驗:本港醫療界投放在罕病研究及發展的資源極少,造成缺乏具經驗的罕病醫護人員,令病人得不到適切的醫護支援。舉例,估計八成罕病是由遺傳缺陷引起,但香港現時已接受臨床遺傳學訓練的專科醫生有如鳳毛麟角,根本無法應付患者的服務需求。
  3. 對罕病患者支援不足:由於香港未為罕病訂立定義,罕病患者的需要備受忽視,不少未能受惠於現有的醫療安全網--撒瑪利亞基金的資助,未獲所需的藥物,以致病情惡化。綜觀全球有超過6,000種罕病,香港雖未有罕病定義,但相信病例至少數以千計。當局一直以病例少、未有足夠數據分析、國際間未有統一定義為藉口作出推搪,只為六種罕病[2],透過「罕有遺傳病專家小組」,按嚴苛的準則,以逐一/逐年審批形式為個別患者提供支援,遠未能惠及絕大部份其他罕病患者。
  4. 藥物難求、費用高昂:病例罕見以至藥物的受惠人數少,藥廠即使願意投放科研資源,罕病藥物價格一般都較高昂。有部份確診的患者即使有適合的藥物,個人亦難以承擔藥物名冊以外的昂貴自費藥物。有些罕有病現時未有藥物治療,惟有依靠輔助藥物舒緩病況及控制病情,使用藥量較高,而這些藥往往未被列入醫院管理局藥物名冊,其高昂費用更不是每個患者可以長期承擔的。
  5. 沉重經濟及精神負擔:由於不少人對罕病有某程度上的歧視及偏見,罕病患者成為被社會孤立的一群。危疾纏身,加上缺乏適切及時的診斷及支援,他們及其家人容易出現內疚、自責情緒,影響工作及學習,甚至引起婚姻、社交及精神等問題。有照顧者或家長由於需要照顧重病親人而被迫放棄工作,家庭負擔百上加斤,身心靈健康不斷耗損。香港大學學者曾指出,罕病家庭的失業及貧窮率均遠高於全港平均水平。