Tel.: (852) 2708 9363 Email: info@hkard.org
Rm 101, Lai Huen House, Lai Kok Estate, Cheung Sha Wan, Kowloon
Social Security and Disabled Allowance

The Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA)

The Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA) Scheme is designed to provide financial assistance to individuals and families in need so as to bring their income up to a prescribed level to meet their basic needs.

If you are now receiving Disability Allowance or Old Age Allowance under the Social Security Allowance Scheme and wish to change the allowance into CSSA, please contact the Social Security Field Unit responsible for your Disability Allowance or Old Age Allowance for details.

An applicant is eligible for an allowance under the CSSA Scheme if he/she satisfies the following conditions:


1. Residence Requirements 

The applicant must: 
(i)  be a Hong Kong resident;

(ii)  have held the Hong Kong resident status for not less than one year; and

(iii) have resided in Hong Kong for at least one year (since acquiring the Hong Kong resident status to the date prior to the date of application).  The one-year residence need not be continuous or immediately before the date of application.  Absence(s) from Hong Kong up to a maximum of 56 days (whether continuous or intermittent) before the date of application is/are treated as residence in Hong Kong. 

Notes:
(1)  Persons whose presence in Hong Kong are unlawful and persons admitted to Hong Kong for a purpose other than residence (i.e. those who are subject to conditions of stay prescribed in Regulation 2 of the Immigration Regulation Cap. 115A, such as imported workers and visitors) are excluded from the CSSA Scheme.     

(2)  Hong Kong residents aged below 18 applying for CSSA are exempted from the requirements at (ii) and (iii) above.        

(3)  In exceptional circumstances, CSSA may be granted at the discretion of the Director of Social Welfare to a person who does not satisfy the residence requirement.

 

2. Financial Tests 

The applicant must pass both the income and assets tests.  If the applicant is living with any other family members, the application has to be made on a household basis.  The total resources and needs of all family members in the same household are taken into account in determining the family’s eligibility for assistance.  In other words, the monthly income and expenses of all family members will be calculated together.

(a) Income Test 
The applicant and his/her family will be eligible for CSSA if their total assessable monthly household income is insufficient to meet their total monthly needs as recognized under the Scheme.  When assessing a family’s resources, training allowance and earnings from employment of those meeting the prescribed criteria can be disregarded up to a prescribed level.

(b) Assets Test 
The total value of the capital assets in Hong Kong, Macau, the Mainland or overseas countries/territories (including land/properties ( Note ), cash, bank savings, cash value of insurance policies, investments in stocks and shares, and other readily realizable assets) held by the applicant and his/her family members must not exceed the following prescribed limit:

 Note :All non-owner-occupied residential properties are treated as assets. The value of an owner-occupied residential property is treated in the following manner: 

  1. The value of the property is totally disregarded for the asset test in cases where there is any member being old, disabled or medically certified to be in ill-health;
  2. Where there is an able-bodied adult aged below 50 in the family and no other member being old, disabled or medically certified to be in ill-health, the value of the property will be included for the asset test after a grace period of 12 months;
  3. For single parents with young children, the Director of Social Welfare may, at his discretion, extend the grace period to allow single parents to continue to receive assistance without disposing of their residential property, subject to meeting the following two conditions: the youngest child in the family is below 15 ; and the total value of the assets held by the family, including the net value of the owner-occupied residential property, is insufficient to meet the family’s maintenance for ten years according to CSSA standards. The owner-occupied residential property of these single parent families will not be included for the asset test until the youngest child reaches 15.

 

Single person cases

  Asset limit (HK$)
Able-bodied adult 30,500
Child, elderly person, disabled person or person medically certified to be in ill-health 47,000


Family cases 

 (a) Cases involving any able-bodied adult 

Able-bodied adults/children Elderly persons, disabled persons or
persons medically certified to be in ill-health
No. of such members Asset limit (HK$) No. of such members Asset limit (HK$)
1 20,500 1 47,000
2 41,000 2 70,000
3 61,500 3 93,000
4 or above 82,000 4 116,000
  5 139,000
6 162,000
above 6 Please contact the staff of
Social Security Field Units

[For example, the asset limit of a 7-member family, including two able-bodied adults, three able-bodied children, one disabled child and one elderly person, is HK$152,000(i.e. $82,000+$70,000)]

 
(b) Cases involving no able-bodied adult 

No. of family members Assets limit (HK$)
2 70,000
3 93,000
4 116,000
5 139,000
6 162,000
above 6 Please contact the staff of Social Security Field Units

 

3.  Additional criteria for able-bodied adults 

A person aged 15-59 in normal health has to meet one of the following conditions :

(a) not being available for work for reasons acceptable to SWD (for example, studying or having to look after young children or sick or disabled family members at home); or

(b) earning not less than HK$2,160 per month and working not less than 120 hours per month; or

(c) in the case of being unemployed or earning less than HK$2,160 per month or working less than 120 hours per month, actively seeking full-time jobs and participating in the Support for Self-reliance Scheme of SWD.  


The Support for Self-reliance (SFS) Scheme is a programme under the CSSA Scheme, which aims to encourage and assist able-bodied persons aged 15 to 59 and being unemployed or working part-time or earning less than the prescribed amount set by SWD to move towards full-time paid employment and self-reliance while providing them with financial assistance. The Scheme comprises the Integrated Employment Assistance Programme for Self-reliance (IEAPS), and the arrangement of Disregarded Earnings. 

CSSA Payments can be broadly classified into following three types.  For the exact payment of a case, please contact the staff of Social Security Field Units.

1. Standard Rates

Standard rates are paid to different categories of CSSA recipients to meet their basic needs.


2. Supplements 

(a) Long-term Supplement: An annual long-term supplement is payable to families involving any member who is old, disabled or medically certified to be in ill-health for the replacement of household and durable goods if they have received assistance continuously for 12 months or more. The amount payable depends on the number of such eligible members in the family.

(b) Single Parent Supplement: A monthly single parent supplement is payable to single parent families to recognize the special difficulties which single parents face in bringing up a family.

(c) Community Living Supplement:With effect from 1 Oct 2011, a monthly community living supplement is payable to CSSA recipients who are old, disabled or medically certified to be in ill-health and who are not living in institutions to better support their stay in the community.

(d) Transport supplement:A monthly transport supplement is payable to severely disabled persons who are medically certified to be 100% disabled or in need of constant attendance and in the age group of 12 to 64 to encourage them to participate more in activities away from home, thereby enhancing their integration into society.


3. Special Grants 

Recipients under different categories can receive special grants on a monthly or one-off basis (such as rent allowance, grant to cover school fees, special diet allowance etc.) to meet their personal or family’s special needs. Applicants may contact the staff of the social security field unit for enquiries.
 



The Disability Allowance

The Disability Allowance can be divided into Normal Disability Allowance and Higher Disability Allowance.  It is a monthly allowance provided by Social Welfare Department (SWD) to the severely disabled Hong Kong residents to meet special needs arising from disability.  The Scheme is non-contributory and the allowances paid under the Scheme are non-means-tested.

An applicant is eligible for the Disability Allowance if he/she: 

1. meets the following residence requirements:

  1. has been a Hong Kong resident for at least seven years; and 
  2. has resided in Hong Kong continuously for at least one year immediately before the date of application (absence from Hong Kong up to a maximum of 56 days during the one-year period is treated as residence in Hong Kong).

Note:

  1. Persons whose presence in Hong Kong is unlawful or persons who are permitted to stay in Hong Kong for a purpose other than residence (for example, imported workers or visitors) are excluded from the Scheme.
  2. Hong Kong residents aged below 18 applying for Disability Allowance are exempted from the residence requirements in (a) and (b) above.
  3. In considering the residence requirement in (b) above, consideration can be given to disregarding absences arising from full-time study or paid work outside Hong Kong during the one-year period, subject to there being sufficient documentary proof.

2. continues to reside in Hong Kong during receipt of Disability Allowance(  Please click herefor information on the permissible limit of absence from Hong Kong).

3. is not receiving Old Age Allowance or Comprehensive Social Security Assistance (CSSA); 

4. is not under detention or imprisonment; and 

5. meets the criteria of the particular allowance as below:

Normal Disability Allowance

  1. is certified by the Director of Health or the Chief Executive, Hospital Authority (or under exceptional circumstances by a registered medical practitioner of a private hospital) to be severely disabled(  Please click here for the definition of ‘severely disabled’); and 
  2. his/her disabling condition will persist for at least 6 months.

Higher Disability Allowance

  1. in addition to meeting all the criteria for Normal Disability Allowance above, Higher Disability Allowance applicant must be certified by the Director of Health or the Chief Executive, Hospital Authority (or under exceptional circumstances by a registered medical practitioner of a private hospital) to be in need of constant attendance from others in his/her daily life; and 
  2. is not receiving care in residential institutions subsidized by the government (including subsidized places in subvented/ contract homes and residential care homes under various bought place schemes) or all public hospitals and institutions under the Hospital Authority, or boarding in special schools under the Education Bureau.

Note: If a Higher Disability Allowance applicant has been admitted into the above residential institutions/public hospitals and institutions for receiving care or special schools under the Education Bureau for boarding service at the time of application, he/she will only be given Normal Disability Allowance. As for existing Higher Disability Allowance recipient, his/her allowance will be adjusted to Normal Disability Allowance if he/she has been admitted into residential institutions/public hospitals and institutions for receiving care or special school under the Education Bureau for boarding service for more than 29 days.

From 1 February 2017 onwards, the amount of assistance payable per month of Normal Disability Allowance and Higher Disability Allowance is HK$1,695 and HK$3,390 respectively.

Source from: Social Welfare Department

電話: (852) 2708 9363 電郵: info@hkard.org
九龍長沙灣麗閣村麗萱樓地下101號
社會保障及傷殘津貼

綜緩計劃

綜緩計劃的目的是向有需要的個人及家庭提供經濟援助,使他們的入息達到一定水平,以應付生活上的基本需要。

如閣下正領取公共福利金計劃下的傷殘津貼或高齡津貼,並希望轉為領取綜援,請聯絡負責你傷殘津貼或高齡津貼個案的 社會保障辦事處查詢詳情。

申請綜緩的人士必須符合下列條件,方可獲得援助:

 

1. 居港規定 

申請人必須﹕

(i)   是香港居民;

(ii)  取得香港居民身份不少於一年;及

(iii) 在取得香港居民身份後,在香港總共居住滿一年(即由取得香港居民身份至申請日前)。居港一年的日數無須連續或緊接在申請日前。在申請日前如離港不超過56天(不論連續或間斷)亦視為符合居港一年的規定。


註:

(1) 非香港居民並不符合綜援計劃的申請資格。這些人士包括非法在港居留的人士,以及並非以居留目的獲准合法在港逗留的人士,即那些須受《入境規例》(第115A章)第2條訂明的逗留條件規限的人士(例如訪客及外地勞工)。  
(2) 18歲以下的香港居民可獲豁免上述(ii)及(iii)項的居港規定。  
(3) 在特殊情況下,社會福利署署長可考慮運用酌情權,向未符合居港規定的綜援申請人發放援助。

 

2. 經濟狀況調查 

申請人必須通過資產及入息的審查。申請人如與家人同住,便須以家庭為單位提出申請。在決定一個家庭是否符合資格領取綜援時,社署會考慮整個家庭的資源和需要。換言之,社署會把所有家庭成員的每月收入和所需開支一併計算。


(a) 入息審查

申請人及其家庭成員每月可評估的總入息不足以應付他們在綜援計劃下的每月認可需要總額,才符合領取綜援的資格。在評估入息時,培訓津貼及符合指定資格的申請人或其家庭成員的工作入息,其中部份可獲豁免計算。


(b) 資產審查

申請人及其家庭成員在香港、澳門、內地或海外所擁有的資產(包括土地/物業  ( )、現金、銀行存款、保險計劃的現金價值、股票及股份的投資及其他可變換現金的資產)總值不得超出下列限額:

:凡非自住物業均納入資產審查。自住物業的處理和計算方法如下:

  1. 如家庭中有年老、殘疾或經醫生證明為健康欠佳的成員,自住物業的價值可獲全數豁免計算;
  2. 如家庭中有 50 歲以下的健全成人,而同時又沒有年老、殘疾或經醫生證明為健康欠佳的成員,該家庭的自住物業會在 12 個月的寬限期過後納入資產審查;
  3. 對於有年幼子女的單親人士,社署署長可行使酌情決定權去延長寬限期,讓這些有年幼子女的單親人士,可繼續領取援助金而無需出售他們的自住物業。但他們必須符合下列兩項條件:家庭中最年幼的子女未滿 15 歲以及家庭的資產總值,包括自住物業的淨值,不足以讓這個家庭按綜援的標準維持 10 年的生活。這些單親家庭擁有的自住物業會在其最年幼的子女滿 15 歲時,才納入資產審查。

 

單身人士個案

  資產限額 ($)
健全成人 30,500
兒童、長者、殘疾或經醫生證明為健康欠佳人士 47,000


家庭個案 

 (a) 家庭成員中有健全成人的個案 

健全成人/兒童的成員 年老、殘疾或經醫生證明為健康欠佳的成員
該類成員的人數 資產限額 ($) 該類成員的人數 資產限額 ($)
1 20,500 1 47,000
2 41,000 2 70,000
3 61,500 3 93,000
4 人或以上 82,000 4 116,000
  5 139,000
6 162,000
6 人以上 請向 社會保障辦事處職員查詢

[例:一個 7 人家庭,成員包括 2 名健全成人、3 名健全兒童、1 名殘疾兒童及 1 名長者,這個家庭的資產限額為$152,000(即$82,000+$70,000)。]


(b) 家庭成員中沒有健全成人的個案 

家庭成員人數 資產限額 ($)
2 70,000
3 93,000
4 116,000
5 139,000
6 162,000
6 人以上 請向 社會保障辦事處職員查詢

 

  3.   身體健全成人的附加準則 

15 至 59 歲身體健康正常的申請人,必須符合下列其中一項條件:

(a) 在社署認為合理的情況下不能工作(例如就學或須要在家照顧幼兒、患病或殘疾家人);或

(b) 每月從工作中所賺取的入息不少於 $2,160 及每月工作不少於 120 小時;或

(c) 失業或每月從工作中所賺取的入息少於 $2,160 或每月工作少於 120 小時的人士,正積極地尋找全職工作及依照社署規定參加自力更生支援計劃。


自力更生支援計劃是綜援計劃下的一項計劃,主要目的是為 15 至 59 歲,身體健全的失業人士或是每月從工作中所賺取的入息或工作時數少於社署所定的標準的人士提供現金援助的同時,鼓勵及協助他們尋找有薪的全職工作,達致自力更生。計劃包括「自力更生綜合就業援助計劃」及「豁免計算入息」的安排。 

綜援計劃下的援助金大致可分為以下三類 。有關個別個案所獲發的援助金額,請向 社會保障辦事處的職員查詢。

1. 標準金額

不同類別的受助人可獲不同的標準金額,以應付生活上的基本需要。


2. 補助金

(a) 長期個案補助金:有年老、殘疾或經醫生證明為健康欠佳成員的受助家庭,如連續領取援助金達 12 個月或以上,可按家庭中這類合資格成員的人數,獲發每年一次的長期個案補助金,作為更換家居用品及耐用品之用

(b) 單親補助金:單親家庭每月可獲發單親補助金,以顧及單親人士獨力照顧家庭所面對的特別困難

(c) 社區生活補助金:由2011年10月1日起,非居於院舍而年老、殘疾或經醫生證明為健康欠佳的綜援受助人,每月可獲發社區生活補助金,為他們留在社區生活提供更有利的條件

(d) 交通補助金:年齡介乎 12 至 64 歲並經醫生證明殘疾程度達 100% 或需要經常護理的嚴重殘疾人士,每月可獲發交通補助金,以鼓勵他們多些外出參與活動,從而促進他們融入社會

 
3. 特別津貼

不同類別的受助人可以按其個別情況領取每月發放或一次過發放的特別津貼(例如租金津貼、學費津貼、特別膳食津等),以應付個人或家庭的特別需要。如有需要,申請人可向社會保障辦事處職員查詢。
 



傷殘津貼

傷殘津貼可分為普通傷殘津貼及高額傷殘津貼,是社會福利署(社署)為嚴重殘疾的香港居民,每月提供的現金津貼,以應付因嚴重殘疾而引致的特別需要。傷殘津貼的申請人無須供款及接受經濟狀況調查。

 

傷殘津貼的申請人必須:

1. 符合下列居港規定:

  1. 已成為香港居民最少七年;及
  2. 在緊接申請日期前連續居港最少一年(在該年內如離港不超過56天,亦視為符合連續居港一年的規定)。

註:

  1. 非法留港的人士,以及並非以定居原因獲准在香港居留的人士(例如輸入勞工和旅客),均不符合資格申請傷殘津貼。
  2. 18歲以下的香港居民可獲豁免上述(a)項居港七年及(b)項連續居港一年的規定。
  3. 在核實申請人是否符合上述(b)項連續居港一年的規定時,如申請人在該段時間內在香港以外的地方就學或從事有薪工作而又能提供文件予以證明,有關的離港日數可獲考慮豁免計算。又如申請人因病需在香港以外地方就醫而又能提供足夠理由及文件證明其情況,社署署長可酌情考慮豁免計算有關的離港日數。

2. 於領款期間,繼續在香港居留(  請按此參閱有關離港寬限的資料);

3. 沒有領取公共福利金計劃下的其他津貼或綜合社會保障援助;

4. 並非受合法羈留或在懲教院所服刑;及

5. 符合下列個別津貼的條件:

普通傷殘津貼

  1. 經由衛生署署長或醫院管理局行政總裁(或在極為特殊情況下由私家醫院的註冊醫生)證明為嚴重殘疾(  請按此參考嚴重殘疾的定義);及
  2. 其嚴重殘疾情況將持續不少於6個月。

高額傷殘津貼

  1. 除要符合上述普通傷殘津貼的資格外,還須經由衛生署署長或醫院管理局行政總裁(或在極為特殊情況下由私家醫院的註冊醫生)證實在日常生活中需要他人不斷照顧;及
  2. 並沒有在受政府資助的院舍(包括津助/合約院舍及參與不同買位計劃院舍的資助宿位)或醫院管理局轄下所有的公立醫院及機構接受住院照顧,或在教育局轄下的特殊學校寄宿。

註:高額傷殘津貼申請人於申請津貼時,如正在上述院舍/醫療機構接受住院照顧或在教育局轄下的特殊學校寄宿,他/她只會獲發普通傷殘津貼。至於領取高額傷殘津貼的受惠人,如他/她在院舍/醫療機構接受住院照顧或在特殊學校寄宿每次超過29天,其可獲發的津貼將會調整至普通傷殘津貼的金額。

 

由2017年2月1日起,普通傷殘津貼的每月金額為$1,695,而高額傷殘津貼的每月金額為$3,390。



資料來源:社會福利署